No phone day!

Hello bloggers! Our 2017 is almost half done. Like someone once said,” The more you worry about yesterday, lesser adventurous will your tomorrow be.” So we should be more interested to plan to finish off the remaining of 2017 and not worry about the past. On that note let’s start!

A few months back I was invited by a really inspiring blogger Pradita Kapahi to join the phone free day initiative. Although I did try it out on a few occasions I didn’t share my experience. Today I’m here for that!

So what’s this phone free day initiative all about? What are the rules and regulations? It isn’t very complicated. If I put it in one sentence. 

Avoiding usage of the mobile phones(and other communicative devices) for an entire day.

Picking up emergency calls is permitted though. Please note the the adjective used was emergency!

I did this challenge a few weeks back. I did a full charge of my phone before sleeping the previous night and switched it off​. 

Usually when I wake up in the morning the first thing I do is check my notifications (who doesn’t do that these days).

However, this time I woke up as usual on my regular time(thanks to my regular habits) and as I always do, thanked the almighty for this new day. A simple start I would say!

This was followed by the usual morning stuff(which is unusual for a lot of peopleπŸ˜‹)

Being a holiday that day I quickly got down to my books(they never betray you).

If ever there was a no book challenge I bet every student would be into it, even for months! 

So I basically spent my entire day, reading textbooks, eating and also some time with friends just talking about random stuff (you never need any topic when sitting with friends. Even if it’s just pointless talking, it’s still so real!)

People who wanted to talk to me came to my room(who otherwise would just give a call, even if they stay next door) 

I felt as if I was living my innocent childhood days when all I knew to do was be real and not be an addict to the virtual world. 

The head feels so much more relaxed. You are not worried about the speed of your WiFi or the funny videos and messages in group chats. It’s just you and your reality. 

I would suggest you all to actually try this for yourself. I know that in this hectic world it isn’t easy to totally avoid these devices but maybe just one day in a month. Like Pradita has been doing for three months in a row now.

This one day will be more than enough to help you realise that you can be happy and independent. 

Do try it and share your experiences and don’t forget to pass on this chain of change!

Special thanks to Pradita Kapahi for this lovely idea. Do check out her post on Phone free day initiative

Have an amazing day! God bless!

40 thoughts on “No phone day!

Add yours

  1. I agree. These days just a phone break gives us all the relaxation we would have thought to get by travelling. . Thanks for sharing your experience.

    Like

  2. The idea of phone free day is good but book free day is awesome. Well, it’s very hard to not pick a call, check your fb notifications, what’s app messages and other social handlings but it is the time we realise that we live without food or parents but we can’t survive without a phone, how addictive it is.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I do that very rarely! Also I know a lot of people who never turn on their silent modes.
      You should give this a try! It’ll be more refreshing than your usual practices. Have a lovely day!😊😊

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m glad that you were able to join Pradita in observing the No Phone Day. I’ve never been able to join this initiative. The closest I’ve gone would be when I put my phone in silent mode and forgot all about it. πŸ˜‚ I hope you’re fine. It’s been a while. 😊

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I did it back when i had been on a trip to Andaman with my parents and after a while it started bothering me a lot because staying 24/7 without phone and internet grew really monotonous for me and it continued for 7 straight days. But off course this is just what i think. And i was really glad to get back to my city after the vacation. Haha. πŸ˜‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Nice! I go a long time without checking my phone on a regular basis. It’s really nice. I think we need that “unplug” time! I haven’t done one whole day. I’ll have to do that on a Sunday.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Not bad at all. I broke my phone so I had to spare myself of its presence for half day and I can say it was strange but good. Few times I thought about it (to check for texts, emails, news and so on) but I realised how life goes on in such a nice way when you are not absorbed in a virtual reality

    Liked by 1 person

  7. This makes me very very happy. You know, you’re the first one, apart from me and Deepika who’s posted about this initiative? I’m really glad that you felt lighter and it helped you relax. And see, even your friends actually came to you rather than just text you. If definitely berks human interaction. I hope u continue with it. All the best and spread the word 😊😊😊😊

    Liked by 3 people

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

